The next season of BPL is slated to commence in early January 2023

As the first team of the forthcoming edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), Sylhet Strikers revealed the names of their icon and some initially contracted players.

Let's have a look at what Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, the icon of Sylhet, and Pakistan's Mohammad Amir, Sri Lanka's Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva can bring for Sylhet Strikers in the next BPL.

Mashrafe - the most successful captain in BPL history:

As the first and only captain to date to win the BPL title for three different franchises, Mashrafe is the icon and the main force of the Sylhet Strikers.

Mashrafe is no longer a regular face on the cricket field due to various personal commitments as a lawmaker. He has also moved away from the national team. Still, Mashrafe said he is putting his best foot forward to make his inclusion count in the BPL for Sylhet.

Mashrafe played 171 T20s in the domestic circuit and 54 T20Is for Bangladesh. He bagged around 200 wickets in this format. His vast experience is surely going to help Sylhet shine in this BPL. And if Mashrafe leads the team, it will be a bonus for the Strikers.

Thisara Perera - who knows Bangladesh like most Bangladeshis!

Thisara Perera is one of the best all-rounders that Sri Lanka has ever produced. He represented more than 20 teams around the globe including the Sri Lanka national team and several teams in BPL.

The pace-bowling allrounder played in almost all seasons of BPL and proved his impact on nearly every occasion. The most important thing about Perera is his experience in Bangladesh. The allrounder, along with BPL, took part in Dhaka Premier League, Bangladesh's main 50-over contest, on more than one occasion. So, he knows Bangladesh very well which will help him perform well as well.

Perera played 327 T20s at the domestic level around the world and bagged 266 scalps while scoring more than 4000 runs. He has 12 fifties under his belt as well. So, Perera is a great recruit for the Strikers.

Mohammad Amir - a pace-bowling hero:

It is true that when Mohammad Amir is talked about, his controversies also come up. But that doesn't hide his pace bowling skills at all. Avoiding many controversies, Amir has been conquering the world for a long time with his pace bowling personality. Even though he is not considered for the national team, Amir continues to play well in different franchise-based leagues around the globe.

Amir has previously played for Chittagong Vikings and Khulna Tigers in BPL and proved his mettle on the soil of Bangladesh. It is expected that he will continue showing his pace and swing for the Strikers as well. Amir has more than 250 wickets in T20s.

Read: BPL: From "world's second-best" to "best domestic" league

Dhananjaya de Silva - one of the best in Sri Lanka:

A right-handed batter and a right-arm off-break bowler. He is one of the best cricketers that Sri Lanka have currently. Dhananjaya scored more than 1700 runs and bagged 29 wickets in T20s. He is more useful as a batter at the top of the order. In 2016, he was one of the best T20 batters in Sri Lanka's domestic cricket.

Kamindu Mendis - the ambidextrous bowler!

A special talent who can bowl with both right and left hands! He is also a good batter whose best innings in T20s is 99 not out. Kamindu Mendis grabbed 13 wickets in 45 T20s and scored more than 800 runs at an average of 24.36 in the format.

These five players can bring a good fortune to Sylhet Strikers. They are a mix of experience and talent, which events like BPL need most. The next BPL will commence in early January 2023.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts