Pantho Rahman (Channel i) and AKM Moinuddin (UNB) have been elected President and General Secretary respectively of the Diplomatic Correspondents Association, Bangladesh (DCAB) for the year 2021.

Pantho was elected unopposed while Moinuddin won against Mizanur Rahman (Daily Manab Zamin).

Mahfuzur Rahman Mishu (Jamuna TV) was elected Vice President contesting against Robiul Haque.

Other office bearers are Jont Secretary Abu Hena Emrul Kayes (Bangla Vision), Treasurer Atiqur Rahman ( and Office Secretary Arifuzzaman Mamun (Amader Somoy).

Five elected executive members of the committee are Raheed Ejaz (Daily Prothom Alo), Angur Nahar Monty (Channel News24), Rased Mehedi (Daily Samakal), Nurul Islam Hasib (Bangladesh Post) and Ahasan Jewel (Somoy TV).

The organisation's Annual General Meeting (AGM) of 2020 and the election for the 11-member executive committee were held at Jatiya Press Club on December 28.

Chief Election Commissioner M Shafiqul Karim announced the election results after the annual general meeting (AGM) and vote casting.

The Daily Observer Business Editor Nizamuddin Ahmed and former DCAB President Anis Alamgir assisted the CEC as Election Commissioners in conducting the election.

Outgoing President Angur Nahar Monty presided over the AGM before the elections.

Outgoing General Secretary Touhidur Rahman and Treasurer Atiqur Rahman presented their reports before the members.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts