Dhaka Courier

Syed Badruddin Hossain memorial drama festival held in city


The 9th edition of the five-day long drama festival titled ‘Syed Badruddin Hossain memorial drama festival’ recently held at the Bangladesh Shilapakala Academy in the city.

A press conference was recently held at a restaurant in the city to brief on the festival by organiser TSC based Padatik Natya Sangsad.

Speakers of the Jatiya Sangsad Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury inaugurated the festival by lighting candle while she also distributed memorial honourary award on the inaugural day.

Padatik Natya Sangsad honoured theatre director-researcher professor Syed Jamil Ahmed and late eminent playwright Selim Al Deen (posthumous) with this year’s Syed Badruddin Hossain Memorial Award for their immense contributions to theatre.

A total of ten dramas were staged at the main hall of national drama centre and experimental theatre hall at 7pm while Indian troupe Natyajan staged Teen Mohana.

Two dramas ‘Circus Circus’ by Prachyanat at National Theatre Hall and Ingal Andhar Pala by Manipuri Theatre at ‘Experimental Theatre Hall’ were staged on the opening day of the festival.

Besides, Padatik Natya Sangsad, Aranyak Natyadal, Aguntuk, Desh Natok, Onnesha Theatre, Palakar staged their acclaimed productions---- Gunjan Bibir Pala, Iblish, Dhaleshwari Opera, Nitya Puran, Jaytun Bibir Pala, Ujane Mrityu respectively while Drama and Dramatics Department of Jahangirnagar University staged  Swapnaramanigan at the festival.

Padatik Natya Sangsad has been organising the festival since 2010 as a tribute to the troupe’s late president Syed Badruddin Hossain, who served as Padatik’s president till his death in 2009 while Padatik Natya Sangsad has been staging theatre drama since 1978.

Alongside, a seminar on Syed Badruddin Hossain will be held on April 11 as part of the festival.

Vice President of the troupe KM Abdur Razzaque, and Moslehuddin Rumu, general secretary Mominul Haque, training and programme secretary Sayeeda Shmasi Ara, Organising and fianc and eacute; secretary Hamidur Rahman Pappu, member Antara Das Pritha were, among others, present at the conference.

  • DhakaCourier
  • Vol 34
  • Issue 41

Leave a Comment