Zimbabwe clinched their maiden T20I series win over Bangladesh on Tuesday at Harare Sports Club.

Bangladesh needed to score 157 to win the series, but the visitors tumbled for 146 and lost the match by 10 runs.

Before today's match, Zimbabwe won the first match of the series as well. Bangladesh won the second match that had helped them to level the series.

Atif Hossain scored the highest of 39 for Bangladesh, but that wasn't enough to avoid a thumping defeat.

Anamul Haque Bijoy failed once again in this match which raised a serious question about his ability at the international level. Mahmudullah Riyad, who wasn't part of the squad initially, played this match but failed to Impress.

For Zimbabwe, Victor Nyauchi bagged three wickets while Brad Evans took two wickets.

Earlier, riding on the 28-ball 54 from Ryan Burl, Zimbabwe posted 156 for eight in 20 overs.

Along the way to hitting the fifty, Burl scored 34 from an over of Nasum Ahmed with five sixes.

Like the first two matches of the series, Zimbabwe won the toss and opted to bat first. They lost six wickets while scoring 67 runs in 13 overs.

But in the next five overs, they scored 79 runs thanks to outstanding batting from Burl.

Zimbabwe had a decent start of 29 runs. But after that, they suffered a collapse to the Bangladeshi bowlers. At one point, it seemed that Bangladesh would wrap them under the 100-run mark.

Along with Burl, Luke Jongwe also did well with the bat scoring 35 off 20 balls with four fours and two sixes.

For Bangladesh, Mahedi Hasan and Hasan Mahmud bagged two wickets each conceding 28 runs each. Nasum Ahmed conceded 40 runs in just two overs.

Bangladesh made three changes in this match. Parvez Hossain Emon is getting his maiden international cap this match replacing Munim Shahriar. Nasum Ahmed and Mahmudullah Riyad are also taking the field replacing Nurul Hasan Sohan and Shoriful Islam.

Before the series decider, Zimbabwe won the first match of the series by 17 runs, and in the second match, Bangladesh won by seven wickets.

Mosaddek Hossain Saikat was leading Bangladesh in today's match. He replaced Nurul Hasan as the captain. Nurul suffered a blow in his finger and was ruled out of the tour.

Both the teams will now lock horns in a three-match ODI series starting from August 5. The Bangladesh ODI team has already reached Harare.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts