Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday left New Delhi for home after attending the G20 summit at the invitation of her Indian counterpart Narendra Modi.

The two-day summit ended on Sunday.

A flight of Biman Bangladesh Airlines, carrying the premier and her entourage members, took off from New Delhi's Palam Airport at 1:08pm local time.

Indian Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Anupriya Singh Patel saw her off at the Airport.

She is scheduled to land at the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport (HSIA) at 03:30pm.

The premier reached the Indian capital on September 8.

During the visit, Sheikh Hasina joined a bilateral meeting with Modi in the afternoon of September 8 at his official residence.

Before the bilateral meeting of the two prime ministers, the two countries inked three MoUs.

The deals were on: "Cooperation in the agriculture research ", "Cultural exchange" and "Simplification of financial transactions between the common people of the two countries".

At the G20 summit, on September 9, Prime Minister PM Hasina attended different sessions and delivered two speeches under the main theme of the summit "One Earth, One Family, One Future".

On the same day, the prime minister also met with the Argentine President Alberto Angel Fernandez, South Korean President Yoon Suk Yeol and United Arab Emirates (UAE) President Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan. Sheikh Hasina also had a meeting with Saudi Crown Prince and Prime Minister Mohammed Bin Salman Bin Abdulaziz on Sunday morning.

On September 10, the last day of the G20 summit, Bangladesh prime minister along with the leaders of other countries paid homage at the Memorial of Mahatma Gandhi at Raj Ghat.

She also joined the concluding session of the conference where "G20 New Delhi Leaders Declaration" was adopted.

India's G20 presidency began in December 2022 and during this presidency term, India invited a total nine guest countries, including Bangladesh, at the summit.

The eight other countries were Egypt, Mauritius, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and the United Arab Emirates.

Leave a Comment

Recent Posts