Asaduzzaman Noor, Joya Ahsan get Ritwik Ghatak Award

Cultural Correspondent
Thursday, November 9th, 2017


Cultural Minister Asaduzzaman Noor and actress Joya Ahsan have been nominated for this year’s Ritwik Ghatak Honourary Award. The duo has received their awards alongside two other film and theatre personalities from India.  On the occasion of the 92nd birth anniversary of eminent director Ritwik Ghatak, the award has been delivered at the ancestral home of the director in Rajshahi. Premendra Majumdar, present council member and former general secretary of Federation of Film Societies has confirmed the news. Brattya Basu and VK Joseph have received the award on part of India.


Born on November 4 in 1925 in Dhaka, Ritwik Ghatak is known for directing films like Meghe Dhaka Tara, Komol Gandhar, Subarnarekha, Titash Ekti Nodir Naam, Nagarik, Ojantrik etc.


Ritwik Ghatak passed away on February 6 in 1976 in Kolkata. His films depict the traumas of partition struck people after the great Indian partition. The Ritwik Ghatak Award is awarded every year for contribution to Bengali cinema and theatre in contemporary times.

Leave a Reply

  • National
  • International